Google+ iOS Apps awaiting approval


MacNetworkNews passed on Erica Joy’s commentary that the Google+ iOS apps have been submitted to the AppStore and are simply waiting to get through Apple’s approval process. To me, this is really good news. I have been playing with Google+ for a few days now and while it seems nice, it feels like ghost town.

I really think that opening up the full potential of Google+ to amy and all platforms can only help G+ gain traction. The mobile web apps are just too limited to create a compelling reason to switch from Facebook. Heck, check-ins are two steps on G+ if you want to leave a comment… and forget about taking and uploading pics on an iOS device with the web app.

From just the little time I have played with Google+, I am enamored with the idea of Circles for sharing. I have a number of different groups of folks that I like to pass different types of information depending on the group. For this purpose, email is a bit of a clunky vehicle and Facebook groups leave a lot to be desired. After playing with Google+, issues like those may be solved and NEW opportunities could arise. From a blogging and sharing perspective, I am hoping the API’s get picked up rather quickly. (@ NibiruTech @blogsyapp I am looking in your direction…)

Anyone else playing with Google+? what are your hopes for the iOS apps?

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

Location:Peine Rd,Foristell,United States

3 thoughts on “Google+ iOS Apps awaiting approval

  1. I’ve had it now for a few days on my iphone? I haven’t used it too much but so far what I *have* done is an improvement. I do use mail, calendar and docs pretty extensively. Access to contacts seems to be non-existent still. In particular if I’ve made notes for a contact and want to know say, what size shirt they wear or the names of their children (no I’m not sending you any shirts and I know the names of your kids), I have to wait until I can sign into gmail on a computer. I don’t have “circles,” so maybe the new look I’m seeing is not the entire package…

    • D,

      What you have on your phone is just the Google App, not Google+ where you get the Facebook like social networking features. From your phone go here: http://plus.google.com then you login with your gmail account info. This will activate and link the account to Google Plus and the social network features.

      Overall, it looks pretty cool and possibly a strong alternative to Facebook if they get mobile done right.

Leave a Reply

