Something so right… Something so Wrong…

Quick post here: I just needed to stop out and grab some diapers for Noah so I quickly stopped at Target. While checking out, I was behind a mother and her 3 children each of whom appeared to be buying something.
Hair stuff for the oldest (15ish), a couple of packs if trading cards for the youngest (6ish), and a couple of gigantic candy bars for the 7yrr old girl. Now, while all of this could have been handled in a single transaction, each of the kids had his or her own money (mom held the cash for the youngest) they each paid, and received change, and carried thier own bags.
Watching this, I started thinking about my boys and how we work with them about money, purchases and independance and I smiled thinking way to go Mom! I finished my purchase and started strolling out feeling happy inside that there were others who used similar practices that we do to help children grapple with learning independance and responsibility.
Unfortunately, when I hit the parking lot, mom was beginning to back out of a handicapped parking space… None on the family was disabled… Mom how could something so right go so wrong?…

3 thoughts on “Something so right… Something so Wrong…

  1. Hi Scott,
    I’d like to encourage you to refrain from judging folks with handicap placards who don’t appear to be handicapped. There are plenty of hidden special needs that justify the special parking privilege.
    Let me give you an example. During his mid- and late-40’s, my husband had a serious heart condition this limited his ability to walk even short distances. He did not look unhealthy, but was. In fact, at his lowest point, his heart was working at less than 10% of its capacity. He needed a bridge to transplant; and underwent surgery in which a left ventricular assist device (LVAD) was put in.
    After 3 weeks we went home with the LVAD beating his heart for him. On January 3, 2004 he was given the gift of life, a new heart. It took him over 6 months to recover and is now teaching full time as a history professor. Even after his transplant and initial recovery he continued to need the handicapped sticker due to damage to his feet. He did not appear to be handicapped and suffered the judgment of many during the long recover.
    So, please, the next time you see someone using a handicapped placard, give her or him the benefit of the doubt.
    Thanks, and make sure to sign up to be a donor: http://organdonor.gov/.
    Cheri Toledo

  2. Cheri,
    Thank you for sharing your husbands story and for commenting and presenting not only a great view point, but one in which I strongly agree with… I apologize if I came off judgmental, and for crushing the story into a quick mobile post. Not only did the Typepad app eliminate all of the paragraphing structure I put in, I rushed through the content. I have had both personal experiences necessitating a temporary handicapped placard and well as have family member who have permenant placards for their disabilities.
    The part of this story that I rushed through was the fact that there was not a placard or handicapped plates on the vehicle. Honestly, that was the instigation for the post. Now I do realize that they may have pulled a temp placard out of the window and I did not think about that when I pulled out my iPhone to post and for that I am sorry.
    Finally, like Cheri I encourage everyone to be an organ doner. I sign the back of every new driver’s license I receive and my family knows my wishes.
    Scott

  3. Thanks for the clarification, Scott. We both have to admit that there are many, many cheaters out there, so your response is very understandable.
    Here on campus, students park in Business and Maintenance spots and leave their flashers going. It’s like they put a magic spell on the car so that the parking police don’t see them. Then, on a trip into Chicago, I saw 15-minute parking spaces that required the use of flashers. Suddenly it all made sense – it was still illegal parking, but it made sense why students from the City might think their magic flashers might work. Things are not always as they seem; so I need to continually identify my assumptions.
    Have a great week.
    Cheri

Leave a Reply

