Resources to Know and Love Revisited…

I want to thank everyone who attended and stayed for an additional 30 minutes AFTER the conference was actually over to participate in and work with me to get through the way to much information I prepared.  I could have rushed through the six topics, but we got to move through them at a pretty good pace. (even if it was a little overwhelming by the end…)
Alright here we go… since I used examples as opposed to a concrete presentation the six topics below begin to flesh out the information that we went through in the session.  Additionally, I will continue building out each topic as I have been lax in that area.  Links to the expanded information are below this post.
Now this by NO means is planned to be a complete list, an expansive list, or even dare I say it the "best of the best" but they are good solid resources that should help to guide folks in a direction. Remember there ARE and will always be alternatives.

However, I do recommend settling on a set of tools and growing with them until you really outgrow them. So, to avoid feeling overwhelmed, look to see where you feel you need a tool to help simplify what you do, enhance what you do, and or expand what you offer.
On to my choices.

[side note: while writing this post I came to the conclusion that I need to break out each of these resources into separate posts to provide more information as well as links to possible educational uses to add value to the WHY should you add these types of resources to your arsenal of learning and teaching tools.]

Additionally, I wanted to provide a category for each set of resources so if the one I mention doesn't meet your needs you can do a quick search to find another. As an overview, I would recommend getting an online resource for: office applications, bookmarking, photo sharing, RSS newsreader, notebook / annotation, tagging, and social networking. If you look hard at this list, it becomes apparent that most (if not all) of these resources can be handled by offline Microsoft products (IE, Outlook, OneNote, Live Photo Gallery).
The main reason I recommend moving these resources online is for the flexibility it provides YOU the user. I'll come right out and say it… I AM A HUGE FAN OF MICROSOFT, however, that said, I HATE being tethered to one machine (although you will rarely find me without my tablet). With resources floating in the ether you can access them from anywhere there is an internet connection. If you don't think that this is important ask yourself a couple of questions: Have you ever really needed a link that you know you saved on your home or school computer and now you are somewhere else? Have you had your personal computer crash the day before a huge presentation / project was due? Have you wanted to connect with others about a topic but did not know where to begin? Well… yes you need to begin moving into the "cloud."
Social Networking:
twitter – By far twitter has become the one tool above all else that all educators should become involved with. A brief description is that twitter is a microblog… your life in 140 characters or less in the moment that it is happening… but it is so much more. It has revolutionized and become a huge piece of my personal learning network. The amount of targeted and useful instructional information I get from my twitter network is staggering. So much so, I have created a folder in my favorites called "Twitter Links to Review" as I cannot get to everything in real-time… feel free to add me to your network my twitter handle is vanishingpoint
Online Office Suites:
Zoho.com is my choice for office productivity in "the cloud." The folks at Zoho have created a HUGE suite of applications that well… all work! Writing, Spreadsheet, Presentations, wikis, project management, databases, an online NOTEBOOK and much more. The biggest reason that I really am taken with Zoho is both the integration of their tool set as well as their focus on collaboration. Additionally, they are continuously expanding their offerings. Did I mention that all of their apps are FREE!
RSS Aggregator (reader):
Really Simple Syndication (RSS) is a tremendous way to simplify your processes in searching and gathering information. In short, once a "feed" is setup, information comes to you as opposed to you hunting for it. My choice of RSS Reader is NewsGator. With NewsGator is pull in news stories from around the world as well as educational and instructional blogs. Additionally, most magazine type services (and all search engines) have RSS feeds embeded into their sites that you can tap into. This type is resource allows you to become a "grazer" of information as opposed to a hunter of information. One of my main criteria for an RSS aggregator was that it would function both online and via a mobile device. The majority of time I access NewsGator through my Motorola Q Global via NewsGator Go!. Additionally, NewsGator allows me to "Clip" a post or piece of information that I find valuable and save it permanently. This is huge as it keeps me from having to use an additional service like Furl for that purpose.
Bookmarking:
I have used Del.icio.us for about a year, and have been very happy ALWAYS having access to my bookmarks and important links. Additionally, with del.icio.us' use of tagging, I don't really have to remember the exact name for resources … just a "category" or idea that I have "tagged" the site link with, and poof it is there… even better, I can pull ALL the resources I have tagged with a certain word at one time… and I can share them, and receive links from others in my personal network. The idea of social bookmarking is not new (we have all shared bookmarks and links with friends in the paper world… del.icio.us brings speed and efficiency to this process. Lee Lefever has a great video that explains social bookmarking well.
Recently there has been a TON of twitter traffic about Diigo. While I have not used it at all, I am beginning to investigate it and its possible uses. Kristin Hokanson wrote an excellent blog post called Dig-ging… Diigo today about the power and value of Diigo which provides compelling reasons to switch and consolidate a number of resources to Diigo… Here is a link to my new Diigo profile.
Photo Sharing:
I absolutely LOVE Flickr! Flickr like others allows anyone to upload photo and share them with family, friends, and or the world. I use the camera in my Motorola Q Global daily, and mms my photos immediately to flickr (and a number of other folks) through my phone. This way my family around the world can see my kids and the things I am getting involved in well… daily! My flickr account is even linked to my blog… look to the left to see what pictures I took today 🙂
NoteBook:
If you have used Microsoft OneNote, or have wished that you could move ANY type of information into a digital notebook that you can annotate, enhance, or share, you really need to look at Zoho Notebook. Think of it as a digital three-ring binder that you can put ANY information, resource, tool (live or static) into. You can then collaborate with other on it, or share the entire notebook, a page, or even an object with anyone! You can even publish it for the world to see. Here are a couple of examples from notes that I took during a conference sessions at IL-TCE 2008. Example 1 Example 2 Example 3 (Example 3 shows quite a bit of the capabilities of Zoho Notebook).
This post has grown exceeding long and I an exceedingly tired… If you have thoughts or comments, I am welcome to all views!
Scott
Photos from Flickr: Dazed81, just Mike is fine and Lady Ying
Related Posts:

2 thoughts on “Resources to Know and Love Revisited…

  1. Hi Scott,
    Welcome to the Diigo community!
    With highlights and sticky notes, group collaboration and richer social sharing options, Diigo is being appreciated as the premium web annotation / social bookmarking service. Knowledge workers, work groups and schools around the world are embracing Diigo for better productivity.
    Please make sure that your account is upgraded ~ the new Diigo educator account: http://www.diigo.com/education Diigo founder was previously a EECS professor at UCBerkeley -we’d love to see Diigo making meaningful contribution to the education community and would welcome your input & participation to help us define the next phase of Diigo for Education, and explore the full potential of Diigo as an educational tool.
    cheers,
    Maggie
    co-founder
    Diigo

  2. Welcome to Diigo!
    TONS of great resources that you can use and communicate about. Join a few groups and check out what they are bookmarking and as Maggie said look into the edudiigo version. I think it has TONS of potential for bookmarking and sharing!

Leave a Reply

