Ok… Back to Writing and Posting…

law_kevenI'll admit it… I have been miserable at posting here… It is not that I have not have a ton to write about, I just have been really lazy with the little free time I have. Well maybe selfish is a better way to look at it, but still … I am a very big proponent of walk the talk… and lately, I have been sitting on the sidelines, taking a Segue and pointing at others…  I have a number of really good excuses…

  • I am 2 staff members short for the busiest time of our year for prepping the building…
  • The majority of my administrative staff has been vacationing while I am worried about a major main office move and construction cut over…
  • I have been creating a mitigation plan for images this year as it looks like the individual responsible for them (see above) will not return to work for 2-4 more months…
  • My wife began a new Masters Program (her 3rd) in library science and I have been a single father (again)…
  • Both of my children (see pictures and videos on the left) have recently decided that sleep is an option they would rather not exercise at this moment…
  • Wii I got a Wii and Wii Fit in the last 2 weeks, and cannot seem to stop playing Tiger Woods 08 golf and the Wii Fit in my little free time… or Lego Indiana Jones if my wife is around… she is hooked!
  • My family is starting and struggling with Geocaching (but in love with it)…
  • General laziness… feeling that when there is time, I have been too tired 😦

Ok, maybe it is the little Wii Balance Board that nicely chastises me, "Oh, too busy to work out yesterday?" when I miss a body test each day. Or simply that I need to procrastinate and avoid doing any real work for a bit so I can put pressure on myself in the future, but I need to start getting thoughts, ideas, and information out of my head for cathartic reasons.

Here are some coming posts:

  • Contacted my Nokia… going to test the N95
  • RSSing my Reader…
  • A Digital Notebook by any other name…
  • Do you Jott?
  • The building of a conference…
  • Go  Web? … Are you looking?
  • Wii wants to Play…
  • Do you have the Cache?
  • … more …

Looking forward to building conversations.  Hope you all are having a great summer!

-Scott

2 thoughts on “Ok… Back to Writing and Posting…

  1. I understand everything you’ve said in this post. I’m discovering that blogging is really a discipline much like getting myself out for a daily walk/jog. And much like the exercise I’m supposed to get – sometimes I really don’t feel like doing it. Perhaps like my exercise plan I just need to commit to blogging on a regular schedule. It’s a good idea in theory but practice is another thing altogether!
    On a different note: congrats on your foray into geocaching. I’ve been doing it for just over a year now and am thoroughly addicted. I’m bren1273 on http://www.geocaching.com and I’m also attempting a geocaching blog at bren1273.wordpress.com (Another blog! What was I thinking?) Geocaching is great fun and can be lots of good exercise too! Enjoy!

  2. Brenda,
    Thanks for the comments… it really is like… well… fun work. It is something that I am going to commit to daily as well. I woke up early today and pleased the Wii Fit by doing a quick body test at 5am, and I plan on keeping that up as well, so I thought that I would carry that momentum back into my blogging.
    Regarding geocaching. I was first introduced to in last November at the IETC conference and really was intrigued both personally and for the potential educational applications. I really did not want to spend $100-$300 on a GPS unit however, and I really am sort of a spontaneous person, so I really don’t want to have to plan my hunts… I just needed to wait for technology to catch up 🙂 MS Live Mobile can now do Lat/Lon and display it as a decimal so I can now convert the coords on geocaching.com to decimal and I am set 🙂
    However, I must admit I really suck at finding the caches.. OK I have found 2 and not found 4 on 3 days of hunting, but when I think that they will be pretty obvious, it looks like it really is hunting… It there a geocaching for dummy’s book out there? or geo”kids” you know easy ones for those of us getting started?
    Joshua is 4 now, and he really loves the hunting part so I thought that this would be fun for our whole family. Trish and I are really excited to go out, and I have found myself needing to be somewhere and looking at wap.geocaching.com to get a quick view what may be around that area that we could take a side trip and explore. The good thing is that my Motorola Q Global has a full browser and with Skyfire I really have a PC out there to hit the full geocaching.com site for more info and maps etc.
    Does it get easier to find them? Should we focus only on the larger caches in the begining? Got any hints on how note to be chased 500+yds by raging mosquitos? Any tips would be greatly appreciated.
    Hope to run into you hunting some weekend.
    ~Scott

Leave a Reply

